Business IT Support | Computer Repairs Lancaster | Network Support

July 19, 2012

Warning: Fake Facebook Photo Notifications Contain Malware

Filed under: Info — Tags: , , — blackboxblog @ 3:43 pm

Be careful about opening emails that claim you have been tagged in a Facebook photo, because they may actually be malware, according to a security expert.

Anti-virus supplier Sophos outlined the threat on Wednesday in their blog. SophosLabs intercepted a “spammed-out email campaign” which was designed to spread malware which looks like the screen shot below.

facebook-malware-email

The link in the email takes the user to a malicious script, which exposes the user’s computer to malware. However, within a few seconds, the user’s browser is directed to a presumably innocent Facebook page like the one below to act as a smokescreen.

facebook-malware-page-redirect

SophosLabs recommends checking the “Facebook” email addresses closely in emails and hover your mouse over the link, at which point you should see it doesn’t go to a Facebook page.

We can help

If you want to chat then give me a call,  or even find me on my Facebook, or LinkedIn . Speak soon Jon Mullen.

March 16, 2012

We hate spam!

Filed under: Info — Tags: , , , , — blackboxblog @ 5:03 pm

Hi everyone, Just thought I would show you an example of spam being delivered by what looked like social media. It could also have been connected to a virus or malware. The actual email is just annoying as it builds up links for someone’s Google ratings.

When you receive an email with active links hover your mouse over the active links (as in the picture below) and it will show where the link is pointing at. In this case the email looked as if it was coming from LinkedIn. So if it doesn’t start off with http://www.linkedin.com/….. then just delete the email. I was fortunate that our anti-virus system (from Trend Micro) actually scans links before we are allowed to open them and it warned me that the site this link was pointing at had been reported for malware. So please beware! If you have any comments or questions please contact me here. Jon

 

Bad LinkedIn Email




Netgear Acer Epson Microsoft Axis Trend Micro